Home | Site Map | Contact Us | Hindi Version
About Us Services Research Publications Group Leaders RTI Act Awards & Honours Careers Web Mail
Dr. Murali Bashyam
Research Interests
Molecular Oncology Group
Past Members
Awards, Fellowships and Honours
Home » Molecular Oncology » Research
Molecular Oncology
Molecular Characterization of early-onset rectal cancer; funded by a Fogarty International Research Collaboration award, National Institutes of Health, USA (2008 to 2011).

Colorectal cancer (CRC) is the third most common cancer worldwide and is perhaps the best understood of all cancers. Although rapid advances have been made in patient management and therapy for most forms of CRC, our understanding of sporadic early-onset rectal cancer (EORC), the predominant CRC subtype in India, is limited. We have performed the first comprehensive molecular and clinico-pathological characterization of CRC from India. Surprisingly, a significantly high proportion of EORC do not harbor either of the two canonical tumorigenesis pathways namely Wnt signaling and mismatch repair defect that drive a majority of CRC worldwide. In addition, EORC also exhibits unique features with respect to chromosomal instability and KRAS mutation status. Efforts are currently underway, using next generation RNA sequencing and genome-wide transcript profiling through microarrays, to understand the biology of this unique CRC subtype. In parallel, our comprehensive studies on the familial cancer syndrome Hereditary Non-Polyposis Colorectal Cancer has revealed involvement of novel genes among Indian patients.

Fig.1. Identification of differential copy number alterations in Wnt- microsatellite stable early-onset rectal cancer (RC). aCGH carried out on genomic DNA isolated from early-onset RC samples reveal a recurrent amplification at 17q12 harboring ERBB2 and GRB7 oncogenes.
People involved
  • Raman Ratheesh: Research Associate; Young Scientist Award of AP academy of sciences, 2014; Best poster award at the Global Cancer Genome Consortium meeting, November 19-20, 2012 and CSIR travel award to attend the Annual meeting of the American Association of Cancer Research, 2013.
  • Raju Kumar : SRF
  • K Viswakalyan : Research Assistant
  • Pratyusha Bala : JRF
  • V Chandrashekhar : Junior Project Technician
  • Dr Ravikanth Kongara: DNB student (Nizam's institute of Medical Sciences, Hyderabad); best paper award at 20th national conference of the association of surgical gastroenterology, 2010.
Funding Agencies : NIH; DBT; DST
Contact Information
Email: bashyam<at>cdfd.org.in

Phone: +91-40-24749383
Fax: +91-40-24749448
Last updated on : Thursday, 1st January, 2015.

Copyright @ 2008 CDFD.